Demons by Heather Frost Blog Tour: Excerpt from the book!

Hi there. Today is not only the day for my post is also the day release for the book! I’m so excited about this book. I didn’t have time to read it yet but I’ll read it in the next couple of days. Because today the book comes out, Heather decided to give you… an excerpt from the book! Here it is a scene from “Demons”:

Kate and Lee are walking toward the school, when Kate is confronted by Aaron’s best friend:

“Maybe your mom’s right, and these extreme fashions you choose

are actually your inner cries for help.” (I said)

“Yeah, maybe.” Her phone vibrated, and she pulled it from her

pocket quickly. I was a little surprised to see it wasn’t orange, but I

guess even Lee had limits. She flipped it open, the sudden light in her

eyes more telling than words.

“Toni?” I guessed easily, wondering how I should feel about an

immortal Guardian showing interest in my best friend. Especially

when that immortal Guardian was Toni.

“Yep.” Lee answered with a smile. “He’s such a funny guy . . .”

“Isn’t he in class?” I asked, though of course I knew my Guardian

didn’t attend the community college like he claimed. He was probably

at the warehouse he called home, lounging on the broken couch

and killing time on the computer. Immortality seemed a bit wasted

on him.

“Yeah—but since when did that stop anyone from having a

decent conversation?”

“Are you guys getting serious?” I asked.

She rolled her eyes at me. “We’ve only hung out a couple times.

It’s no big deal.”

“Are you okay with that?”

“Of course.” It was time for us to part ways. “I’ll see you in second

hour,” she called over her shoulder, fingers still tapping over her

phone.

I shook my head fondly in her direction before continuing my

walk toward the main entrance. A couple classmates sitting on the

grass called out to me, and I gave them each a quick wave. I was ready

to start up the stairs when I heard a deep voice speak up somewhere

behind me.

“Kate, wait up a sec, huh?”

My legs stopped moving and I twisted around to face Jaxon,

Aaron’s best friend. He was a big guy—a star athlete. His white teeth

gleamed brightly on his otherwise dark face. He was usually spouting

jokes or laughing at someone else’s. Today he was looking serious, his

aura a combination of uneasiness and determination, accented with

wisps of red anger. His face was firmly set, but he was trying to keep

his eyes from looking too accusatory. It was in situations like these I

really disliked my Sight: Seeing the full force of a person’s emotions

was intimidating, and that intimidation was only exaggerated when

the person was putting on a relatively calm face.

I’d been hoping to avoid this conversation with Aaron’s best

friend and, after a week, I’d thought I was relatively safe.

I guess not.

I forced a smile. “Hey, Jaxon, what’s up?”

He smiled just a little, his eyes still tight. “Nothing much. You?”

I shrugged, reaching up to grip the shoulder straps on my bag.

“Nope.”

He nodded, coming to a stop two steps away from me. A few

clusters of students passed around us on their way into the school,

but for the most part we were ignored.

I refused to shift my weight and appear awkward. I kept my smile

firmly in place and waited for him to speak while my fingers circumspectly

strangled my bag.

He blew out his breath, half wincing. “Look, I wasn’t going to do

this. Honestly. What you and Aaron do isn’t my business. I respect

you too much to lecture you or anything.”

“Thanks. I appreciate that, Jax.”

“But, Kate,” he continued quickly, ignoring my words, “I don’t

think you understand what you’re doing. What this looks like. I

mean, you completely dumped him without any warning. He came

to pick you up for a dance—after you stood him up all day. Then

Monday morning comes around, and you’re with O’Donnell, holding

hands and smacking lips. Couldn’t you have at least waited a week

before moving on? Aaron’s ego is completely shot. He’s a wreck.”

I swallowed hard and glanced at my feet, the guilt making my

stomach twist. “Jaxon—”

“I know. Totally not my place, totally awkward—I get that.” I

looked up and our eyes locked. I’d never seen him so serious. “But

Aaron’s my best friend, Kate. And I think he needs some kind of

explanation or something. I don’t think he’s going to get over this

unless you talk to him about what happened. Why it happened.”

“What on earth would I say?” I asked, honestly hoping he’d have

some ideas.

“I don’t know.” He sighed. “But come on, you can’t pretend that

you don’t feel guilty about all this. I know you too well not to see the

signs. I know you cared about him a lot, and feelings don’t just disappear

like that.”

“Jaxon, things between us were shaky at best since I lost my

parents.”

“I know. I saw that. I think everyone did. But Aaron was trying.

I thought you were trying too. So did he. You didn’t even give him a

chance to talk this out with you.”

“We talked,” I argued.

He cut in firmly, the red in his aura flaring sharply. “No. You

talked. He listened without a choice.”

I pursed my lips and glanced away. His words hurt, but I knew

that was only because they were true. After all Aaron had done for

me . . . I hadn’t treated him fairly at all.

Jaxon continued heavily. “Sorry. I don’t mean to sound like a jerk.

But he’s my best friend. What would you do in my place?”

I didn’t answer. I didn’t have to. We both knew the answer.

Kate’s life is far from normal. She can see auras, her boyfriend is immortal, and her powers make her a target. But now that the Demon Lord is hunting her, things are about to go from dangerous to truly deadly. Packed with action, mind-blowing plot twists, and characters you can’t get enough of, this is a fast-paced, heart-pounding read from cover to cover.

Links:

Website: http://heatherfrost.com/

Facebook Fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Seers-The-Official-Fan-Page/158893460846605?ref=ts

About the Author:

She was born in Sandy, Utah. She lived in Salt Lake City until she was about six, and then she moved North.She attended Snow College,and there got the best job ever as a writing tutor. She graduated in May 2011 with her Associate of Science, and she is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science as an English Major.

This is the second book she published.

3 thoughts on “Demons by Heather Frost Blog Tour: Excerpt from the book!

Leave a Reply

