Interviu cu Mae Clair

 

 

 

Mae Clair este autoarea romanului “Weathering Rock”.

First I want to thank you for giving me the opportunity to interview you on my blog.

1.Tell us something about you. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve been writing since grade school. I’ve always loved books, reading and words. As a kid, my parents would take me to the library. My father was an artist who dabbled in writing and, although I never inherited his skill with oil paints, I took his love for story-telling and ran with it. As far back as I can remember, all I’ve ever wanted to do was write. If I go over a week without working on a story I suffer withdrawal. I couldn’t imagine a life without writing!
2.For those who are unfamiliar with your book, “Weathering Rock”, how would you introduce it?
It’s primarily a romantic suspense novel, but it’s also a story of time-travel and rivalry interwoven with paranormal elements. My main character was a colonel during America’s Civil War who was cursed with lycanthropy by his closest friend who became a bitter enemy. Both of them are transported to the present where the hero (Caleb DeCardian) meets, and falls for, my heroine, Arianna Hart. They have their hands full being from different centuries. Complicating matters, Caleb is a werewolf and his rival is stalking them both. Lots of hurdles on the way to an HEA, LOL.
3.What inspired you to write it?
I love history and myth. Although it was an unusual combination, I decided to weave the two  into a story set in present day. A bit like having my cake and eating it too 😉
4.Do you have another projects in your mind?
Yes, thank you for asking! I recently signed a contract with my publisher, Lyrical Press, for my latest work, a contemporary romantic suspense novel called TWELFTH SUN.
It involves a treasure hunt for a valuable marine artifact. My heroine, Reagan Cassidy, has been asked by her uncle to work with a friend who’s a renowned authority in the field of marine archeology. She agrees, thinking he’s going to be a stodgy old man, close to her uncle’s age. Instead, she gets Dr. Elijah Cross, a quirky twenty-five year old who looks like a grunge musician and who has held a Ph.D. for several years. Reagan is an ‘older’ woman at thirty-five but once they start working together, the sparks and attraction fly! It’s scheduled to release in August of 2013.
5.Do you have a routine that you use to get into the right frame of mind to write?
Not really. I ALWAYS want to write, so when I get the chance it’s pretty much something I’ve been looking forward to. That makes it easy to sit down and start spinning tales.
6.What books have most influenced your life?
Ooo, that’s a tough one. I read across multiple genres but, some of my favorite books are the Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett, The Terror by Dan Simmons and the Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien. I enjoy reading everything from romance, mystery and thrillers to fantasy, YA, non-fiction and more.
7.What do you like to do when you are not writing?
READ!  LOL!  If I’m not writing, my nose is generally buried in a book. I do enjoy some other things as well like tracing family history, looking at old photos, exploring old cemeteries and I like digital scrapbooking and design.
8. What do you think makes a good story?
Conflict and characters, I love a story that centers on relationships more than plot. Give me friction, a chance for redemption and healing, and I’m sold. Make me fall in love with the characters, become emotionally invested and chances are I’ll return time-and-time again to that author.
9. Do you have an advice for your Romanian readers?
 
Not so much advice as a thank you to say how much I appreciate your interest in me as an author and my book. It’s humbling to think my story may be read by readers so far away. It’s wonderful that the joy of story-telling and reading unites so many people in so many places. I’m honored to have been asked to visit today and share a little bit about myself and WEATHERING ROCK.
She can be found at:
WEATHERING ROCK is available at:
About the book:

Drawn together across centuries, will their love be strong enough to defeat an ancient curse?

Colonel Caleb DeCardian was fighting America’s Civil War on the side of the Union when a freak shower of ball lightning transported him to the present, along with rival and former friend, Seth Reilly. Adapting to the 21st century is hard enough for the colonel, but he also has to find Seth, who cursed him to life as a werewolf. The last thing on Caleb’s mind is romance. Then fetching Arianna Hart nearly runs him down with her car. He can’t deny his attraction to the outspoken schoolteacher, but knows he should forget her.

Arianna finds Caleb bewildering, yet intriguing: courtly manners, smoldering sensuality and eyes that glow silver at night? When she sees Civil War photographs featuring a Union officer who looks exactly like Caleb, she begins to understand the man she is falling in love with harbors multiple secrets–some of which threaten the possibility of their happiness.

Finding a decent guy who’ll commit is hard enough. How can she expect Caleb to forsake his own century to be with her.

A Lyrical Press Paranormal Romance.

 

V-a placut interviul? Ce parere aveti despre carte?

 

2 thoughts on “Interviu cu Mae Clair

Leave a Reply

